California Vehicle Code Section 23152(b) stipulates that anyone who drives a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in excess of 0.08 percent is considered in violation of the law and can be arrested for Southern California DUI.
If you’re convicted, you can go to jail, be forced to pay exorbitant fees and court costs, lose your California driver’s license for a whole year, be forced to install and maintain an interlock ignition device, and face other punishments as well as strict probation terms.
While 0.08 percent is a statewide standard, the rules are different — and stricter — for drivers under the age of 21 years. According to Section 23140 of the California Vehicle Code, anyone under 21 years who drives with a BAC of 0.05 percent or greater is breaking the law. Police can arrest you, and your license can be suspended for a full year.
The zero tolerance law is even stricter. According to California Vehicle Code Section 23136, anyone under 21 years who has a BAC of just 0.01 percent or greater can be penalized with a one to three year license suspension. A police officer can take away your driver’s license and give it back to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
According to official Los Angeles Police Department figures, as based on the US Department of Transportation’s Fatality Analysis Reporting System, California often leads the nation in the number of road-related traffic fatalities. This is partly due to the fact that the state has so many people and so many cars (and so few public transportation options, at least in Southern California).
Minors often do not realize the potency of the alcohol that they consume — particularly as it relates to their driving prowess. Drinking alcohol has been shown to slow reaction times, impair concentration, reduce range of vision, and stoke reckless behavior.
Los Angeles DUI and Hollywood DUI crashes involving young people can lead to awful catastrophes — affecting not only the lives of promising students, athletes, and citizens, but also the lives of other people in the community.
Myriad rules govern driving restrictions on minors. As we’ve discussed, CVC Sections 23136, 23140, 23152 can all be relevant, depending on the details of your Beverly Hills DUI charge. It makes sense to seek advice from a highly regarded, experienced Los Angeles DUI trial attorney.
Michael Kraut of the Kraut Criminal & DUI Lawyers can provide a free, no nonsense, and no obligation consultation now. Attorney Kraut stands out from the pack because he’s Harvard Law School educated and a former District Attorney. He has the knowledge and wherewithal to craft effective and strategic DUI defense arguments for you.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Beverly Hills or you are under investigation for driving under the influence in Southern California, please contact Los Angeles criminal defense attorney Michael Kraut for 24/7 assistance by phone at (323) 464-6453 or toll free at (888) 334-6344 or online.